Month: August 2008

  • Taking A Break

    Life has seemed to just been a big blur lately.  With my regular 40 hour a week job, plus our 18 month old daughter, and my having shot 6 weddings within the last 2 months; it is no wonder.  Well we decided to take it easy this past Sunday afternoon.  So we ended up at the zoo.  One of our better investments this year was an annual pass for the zoo.  It is great since I think you only need to visit about 2.5 times and you have made up what you paid.  The pass covers our admission and parking.  What is nice is since we have a pass we can just go and see what we want and just relax…why because we can comeback whenever we want!  Our daughter loves it since she likes seeing the animals and even just hanging out on the grass.  So again we had a good time, and will we be going back?  Why YES, since we can! 

     

    IMG_1526 b

     

    Can you say “Goat”

     

    IMG_1533 b

    IMG_1597 b

    IMG_1582 b

     

    Milk Time!

     

    IMG_1577 b

     

    Who needs toys?  We just give her wipes to play with…seems to like it.

     

    IMG_1637 b

     

  • Christine & Vivek’s Wedding (tease) – Maybe Another Split Second of Fame

    This past weekend I was in Halfmoon Bay shooting second for KI Photography.  We were covering the wedding of Christine and Vivek.  They are totally a fun loving couple yet with a total consciousness of how things in this world are interrelated.  Besides planning a fantastic event one of their goals was to make their event a green wedding.  As a result Kristian and I found ourselves amidst of all things a Bloomberg News crew.  This is funny since you might remember, earlier in the month we were shooting another wedding where KPIX Channel 5 was doing a story on the bride and groom getting married on 8/8/08.  Hummm…is this a trend? 

     

    Well as I said Christine and Vivek were totally fun, as were their families and guests.  Put that together with a fantastic venue and you have a very memorable event.  I am so behind in processing all my images from past weddings but for now here are a couple to hold my couple of readers over. 

    IMG_0376 b

    IMG_0199 b

    AIMG_0577 b

    IMG_0694 b

    IMG_0655-2 b

    IMG_0845 b

    AIMG_1246 b

    AIMG_1390 Text b

     

  • Azarah & Russell’s Wedding (Preview)

    Earlier I made a quick entry about Azarah & Russell’s Wedding in association with 8/8/08.  Well I only put up a couple of pictures at that time, mostly just showing them getting interviewed by Linda Yee of KPIX.  Azarah & Russell were such a fun couple to work with and their bridal party was a blast too.  Here are a few shots of their special day.  I will get up more once I filter through the other weddings I need to get through.  Congrats again Azarah & Russell!

     

    IMG_9752-2 b IMG_9865 b

    IMG_9870 b

    IMG_0116 b

    IMG_0164 b

    IMG_0211 b

    AIMG_0179-2 b

    IMG_0198-2 b

    IMG_0351 b IMG_0227-2 b

     

  • Audrey & Alan Get Married

    Yesterday my family and I attended the wedding of my good friend Audrey and her now husband Alan.  I met Audrey it seems like a million years ago in of all places…a bowling league.  Audrey had been placed at random on a team but did not get along the best with the folks on that team so seemed to always be hanging out with our team.  Well I did not see her for awhile but later we reconnected through church.  As it ended up we served on a ministry team together for 10 years.  Wow, shocks me to even realize that.  

     

    Well this wedding was the first one that I have gone to this year where I was actually a guest.  I’ve been at many weddings lately but always working.  So it was nice to get to be a guest.  My good friend and one of my mentors in photography Scott of Scott Robert Photography was her photographer and he was seconded by Steve, another friend of mine who I met in one of Scott’s workshops.  So she had some high powered coverage for her special day.  I wasn’t able to run around too much but could not resist snapping of a few shots. 

     

    Congratulations Audrey & Alan!  Best wishes on your new life together and we look forward to sharing more good times with you in the future.

     

    IMG_9665 b

    AIMG_9685 b

    IMG_9681 b

    IMG_9705 b

    IMG_9717 b

    IMG_9725 b

    IMG_9778 b

    Here is what my daughther was doing of course during the ceremony.  Sorry Audrey & Alan…I guess when you are 18 months…

     

    IMG_9773 b

    IMG_9797 b

    IMG_9809 b

     

    Someone got some chopsticks for the first time.  I think she was amused!  And the other thing I have no idea…green bubble girl?  Who knows…

     

    IMG_9868 b

    IMG_9874 b

    Scott being so happy to get to eat.  I never realized until I started shooting weddings that there are times that the photographer barely gets to eat or doesn’t really get much of anything to eat.  Please be nice to your photographers.  They are with you for a long time and work very hard to get your shots. 

     

    IMG_9880 b

    Steve get to work and take some pictures…..ha ha ha

     

    IMG_9886 b

    I didn’t get very many opportunities but I managed to grab this one from across the room during one of the glass clanking sessions.

     

    IMG_9895 b

  • A Split Second Of Fame

    Friday was 8/8/08, which as many know was a very popular day for many things especially weddings.  I was shooting a wedding with Kristian of KI Photography forgetting about the particular significance of the day.  That is until Linda Yee of KPIX channel 5 met Azarah and Russell at the Ferry Building.  They had contacted them and asked if they could do a quick piece on their wedding. 

     

    Well when I got home I of course turned to the news to see if there was anything and wouldn’t you know it I got like 0.1 sec of fame as in one shot you can see me just walking out of frame as we are backing up ahead of the wedding party trying to get some shots. 

     

    Congratulations, Azarah and Russell.  I will post more pictures later when I get a chance.

     

    Here are a couple shots of the couple being interviewed by Linda.

     

    IMG_0043 b

    IMG_0045 b

     

    Here is a shot of the happy couple. Big Giants Fans!  Props to the bridesmaids who convinced some passers by into letting us borrow the bat!

     

    IMG_0238 b

  • Joyce & Daniel’s Wedding

    Whew…things have just been busy.  Seems like I have been running all over the place, this past weekend I was seconding a wedding with Lynn of Plain Sight Photography.  I met Lynn back in the beginning of the year when we were both in a Scott Robert workshop.  He is a cool guy and we both have a passion for and love wedding photography.  Well we trekked up to Rocklin to cover the wedding of Joyce and Daniel.  It was a beautiful day, although, a bit hot for me.  I think I almost passed out at one point from dehydration. =( 

     

    This truly seemed like a family affair with guests running around talking, performing, helping, and taking a ton of group shots together.  I offered to help at one point thinking I would just take a picture but ended up being a camera tree.  That happens when everyone wants a picture but they want it on their camera and don’t want to just get it from someone else.  It was a long day but Lynn and I had a great time shooting it.  Congratulations Joyce and Daniel.  Here are a few shots from the day. 

     

    IMG_9416-2 b

    IMG_9202 b

    IMG_9415 b

    IMG_9374 b

    IMG_9390 b

    AIMG_9597-2-2v2 b  

    AIMG_9645 b