Month: April 2009

  • Christine & Joey Get Married – The Slideshow

    IMG_9786-Edit b Slideshow .jpg

    I have known Christine for a few years now, as we attend the same church.In fact for a couple of years we actually served together in a leadership capacity.As it is anytime you have to be responsible and lead, there were times that we had to deal with some pretty heavy stuff; but aside from her totally being able handle all the stuff that was thrown at us, one of the best things about serving with her was how she could lift your spirits when she flashed one of those big smiles or broke into her infectious laugh.I just recently met Joey but right from the start he was one of those folks you just can feel comfortable with.So I know I keep saying this but it was such an honor to be part of their special day.

    The weather kept threatening that day but we were lucky enough to have it hold out, that is except when I was trying to photograph them outside.Then it would start to drizzle forcing us to take shelter to keep everyone dry, comfortable, and in tact especially since it was still before the ceremony.So I wish we could have gotten a couple more shots outside the Claremont but hey how can I complain the inside of the Claremont is gorgeous.One of my favorite moments of the day was at the church; I was with Christine and the bridesmaids.The ceremony was about to start and we realized, “Hey we should pray before going out.”My friend Jackie, who was the Maid of Honor says, “Eric can you pray for us?”Actually it was more like, “Eric…” but I embellished for clarity sake.=)But regardless it was a great honor to get to lead them in prayer just before Christine went out to be with Joey.Ha ha…so see I am a full service photographer!

     

    In any case, here is their slideshow.Thanks again to Lynn-Kai for helping me out.It was great to have him present to assist me, although, as he mentions on his blog being a second is pretty nice sometimes.I was going to post some blackmail pics of him kicking it and having a good time but really he worked hard and helped me in exactly the ways I needed him.Congrats again Christine & Joey!

  • A Night At The Aquarium

    IMG_7620-Edit b.jpg

    The other week I went down to Monterey to help cover a work conference for some of my friends.  This trip has demonstrated how much my life has changed.  In the past if I had ever even come close to Monterey all I would be doing is trying to find a way to play golf on any one of those fantastic courses that are down there. Well on this trip I did not even have my clubs with me.  Yes, amazement for even me.  Much of that because I needed to shoot for most of the time I was there but also because once done I pretty much needed to get back to the family.  Well one day I will play again, my big motivation for teaching and getting my daughter to love golf.  =)

     

    Most of the stuff that I got to shoot was pretty standard work type stuff but they did have a reception at the Monterey Bay Aquarium one night.  I must say that it is a great venue.  So can someone please book a wedding in there and hire me?  I would so love to shoot a wedding in there and I think it would just be one of the coolest things.  Unfortunately, I hate to say it would probably cost a small fortune but like I said if someone is so incline please keep me in mind.  =)  Well here are a few shots from that night.

     

    IMG_7616-Edit b.jpg

    This little guy was on a mission to make it to the other end.

     

    IMG_8287 b.jpg

    IMG_7628 b.jpg

    IMG_7632 b.jpg

    The dessert table

     

    IMG_7636 b.jpg

    IMG_7643 b.jpg IMG_8298-Edit b.jpg

    IMG_8313-Edit b.jpg

    IMG_8354-Edit b.jpg

     

     

  • Fallingwater – A Pilgrimage of Sorts

    Falling Water B&W Color .jpg

     

    For those of you who might not recognize the house pictured above, it is Frank Lloyd Wright’s Fallingwater.  It was originally built for Edgar J, Kaufman as a summer vacation home.  It is now one of the most well known homes in the world.  This is perhaps the most famous view of this structure as it shows its beauty and the dramatic way it hangs out over the waterfall that it is built on.

     

    I thought I would share it with you all since it represents part of my life and also where I desire to go with my photography.  I have always loved architecture and have loved this house since the first time I saw a picture of it.  It became one of my life goals to one day see it in person.  So thankfully my wife generously indulged me and we made the trek to Western Pennsylvania to see it.  To echo the words of one journalist who described it in Ken Burns documentary about Frank Lloyd Wright, something about Fallingwater touches you deep within your soul and at the end of the day you can’t find words to fully explain what it is you feel. And you know when you actually see it, well it is deep experience.  So what does that have to do with my photography?  Like my wanting to see Fallingwater and making it a goal in my life, I realize that I must make goals and achieve them as I continue to grow as a photographer.  And like going to see Fallingwater it takes sacrifice and effort to reach a goal that is truly worth achieving.  Also I hope one day I can produce images that can truly touch people on as deep a level as this structure does. 

     

    I hope that everyone is doing well and hopefully you have something that inspires you and drives you to ever greater things.  If you ever get a chance to go see Fallingwater I recommend it, if you are into things like that, it truly is an amazing experience.  Have a great weekend folks.

  • Christine & Joey’s Wedding (preview)

    IMG_9383 b

    Okay, I am still working on Christine & Joey’s wedding but thought I would actually put up a proper preview/tease since I only tossed up a few images before.  As I mentioned before it was such an honor to be part of this special day.  Besides being a great couple Christine & Joey were just so easy to work with.  Plus you just have to love the Claremont Hotel, it is the epitome of old world charm and class, and really brings back that bygone era.  I loved that Christine’s look for the day was also very classy so put the two together and…wow!  In some of the shots I really think she looks like one of those glamorous past movie stars. Well that is when she did not have on her big smile or just cracking up like she often does.  Either way though you just had to love it.  Well stay tuned for more to come.  Welcome back C & J, hope you had a great honeymoon. 

     

    IMG_6707-Edit v2 b

    IMG_9021b IMG_6725 v2 b

    IMG_6792-Edit v2 b

    IMG_6786-Edit v2 b

    IMG_9062-Edit v2 b IMG_9086 v2 b

    IMG_9212-Edit v2 b.jpg

    IMG_6731 b

    IMG_9262-Edit v2 b

    IMG_6859-Edit v2 b

    IMG_9313-Edit v2 b.jpg

    IMG_9273 v2 b

    IMG_9379 b

    IMG_9397 v2 b

    IMG_9461-Edit b

    IMG_6985 v2 b

    IMG_7028 v2 b

    IMG_9529-Edit-2v2 b

    IMG_9729 v2 b

    IMG_9786-Edit b.jpg IMG_9814-Edit v2 b

    IMG_7232 b IMG_0096 v2 b

    IMG_9767 b

    IMG_9875-Edit v2 b