April 18, 2009

  • Fallingwater – A Pilgrimage of Sorts

    Falling Water B&W Color .jpg

     

    For those of you who might not recognize the house pictured above, it is Frank Lloyd Wright’s Fallingwater.  It was originally built for Edgar J, Kaufman as a summer vacation home.  It is now one of the most well known homes in the world.  This is perhaps the most famous view of this structure as it shows its beauty and the dramatic way it hangs out over the waterfall that it is built on.

     

    I thought I would share it with you all since it represents part of my life and also where I desire to go with my photography.  I have always loved architecture and have loved this house since the first time I saw a picture of it.  It became one of my life goals to one day see it in person.  So thankfully my wife generously indulged me and we made the trek to Western Pennsylvania to see it.  To echo the words of one journalist who described it in Ken Burns documentary about Frank Lloyd Wright, something about Fallingwater touches you deep within your soul and at the end of the day you can’t find words to fully explain what it is you feel. And you know when you actually see it, well it is deep experience.  So what does that have to do with my photography?  Like my wanting to see Fallingwater and making it a goal in my life, I realize that I must make goals and achieve them as I continue to grow as a photographer.  And like going to see Fallingwater it takes sacrifice and effort to reach a goal that is truly worth achieving.  Also I hope one day I can produce images that can truly touch people on as deep a level as this structure does. 

     

    I hope that everyone is doing well and hopefully you have something that inspires you and drives you to ever greater things.  If you ever get a chance to go see Fallingwater I recommend it, if you are into things like that, it truly is an amazing experience.  Have a great weekend folks.

Comments (3)

  • Wow Eric, That’s beautiful. You are well on your way with your photography. I’m sure you have already touched many with it. Keep shooting for the goal and when an image touches your heart first, it will definitely touch others also!  

  • I’ve always wanted to go here, I watched that Ken Burns Doc 4 times!

  • @tdaddie - Yeah, it is pretty amazing.  One of my friends once said you have to go there in all 4 seasons because the house takes on a different feel for each one since it is so emersed in the surroundings.  I love that Ken Burns Doc so much I actually bought it on DVD!  If you ever go take that in depth early morning tour as it takes you through the whole house and is the only one that allows you to take pictures inside the house.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *