April 28, 2011

  • Why It Really Matters

    I too often hear of or see wedding photographers who just don’t seem to be very into covering the event they are shooting.  When I see that it really bothers me because I feel if that is the attitude that they are going to have then they really should not be a wedding photographer.  I mean even just on the surface we all know how important a wedding celebration is to the couple and their guests.  But often there is much more beyond what we can see.  Just the other day I received news from Meghan one of my brides from last year.  She let me know that one of her bridesmaids had lost her battle with cancer and it really floored me.  I did not know that at the time of their wedding she had already been diagnosed and was scheduling her treatments around the wedding.  I never knew she was sick but she obviously was determined to celebrate this big event with her friend and make it a memorable and joyous event.  Unfortunately I also recently learned of the passing of one of my other client’s parent.  As a result of all this it made me reminisce about my own experience.

    A couple of months before my own wedding my Mother was diagnosed with lung cancer.  To know my Mom you would know that she looked forward most of her life to see her son’s get married.  Due to circumstances my brother never had a formal wedding and thus I knew that my Mom waited in great anticipation for the day that I would get married.  Aside from all the other stresses that were associated with learning my Mom was very ill was the fact that I knew she was really looking forward to our wedding.  So as our wedding day approached my Mom had to start her chemo treatments.  I feared that she would feel ill and be too weak to enjoy herself, so I prayed that she would have a good day.  Well our wedding day came and my prayers were answered because to my great joy my Mom had a great day.  As with most mothers she was proud beyond belief and to be there with family and many of her friends was I believe one of the highlights of her life.  Sadly we lost her just a little over a year later.

    As I look back I wish that we had been able to spend more time together as a family, but I can’t even express how much it ment to me to see how happy my Mom was on that day.  I have a number of memories of that day and there were a number of things I never even knew were happening.  So I do cheerish the photos that our photographers captured from that day.  So that is part of what drives me to work hard now, because what we do as a wedding photographer is often more important than we might ever know. 

     

    DianaEricWed131 

    My parents on my wedding day.  We lost my Mom just a little over a year after this image was taken and just lost my Dad last year. 

     

Comments (2)

  • Life takes turns we cannot predict.  We never know whether a picture taken may be the last.  Pictures of our loved ones become priceless treasures.  Ask anyone what they would grab if their house caught on fire, and most people will tell you photo albums.  That you take pride in your work and are aware of the significant role you, as photographer can play shows in the final product and is a large part of what sets you above the rest.  Keep up the excellent work.

  • @Nancy T - Thank you for your kind words.  I can confirm with you that pictures are something you miss if you lose them.  I lost all my pictures when our house burned up in the Oakland Hills Fire.  After that I totally know for sure that should something like that happen and I can, my pictures would be one of the first things I would save.  Thank you for your comment.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *