May 21, 2008

  • Stop And Smell The Sunset

    People say that once in awhile you need to stop and smell the flowers or maybe go out and watch a sunset.  Somehow those statements don’t always seem to fit into our lives these days.  There is always so much to do and not enough time to do it.  We must always be pushing forward or we will fall behind and not accomplish our goals and get ahead.  But is that always what is best for us?  Quite awhile ago I found myself passing out and not knowing what was happening.  Well what was happening was I had a bleeding ulcer, so I was basically bleeding to death without knowing it.  When I tell people this they are usually surprised since I think most people think I am kind of a mellow easy going guy.  I think I am overall but unfortunately I also tend to internalize things. 

     

    When this was happening, my plate was full to say the least.  Work was crazy for a number of different reasons.  My personal life was terrible too.  My folks were trying to rebuild their home after it burned down, and to make things worse they had a bad contractor to.  And the relationship I was in at the time was falling apart as well.  Whew…no wonder I keeled over!  I was emotionally bankrupt.  Obviously something needed to change.  During that time God really took me on a journey and taught me that even in those bad times he was there and that there is beauty and wonder around you if you can let go and see it.  So some of the best things are simple and in places you would not expect.  We just have to take the time to look.

     

    Well I have to say that of late photography has become my haven more and more.  It allows the creative part of me, which has not always had expression, to come out.  It has also helped me to let go of things as I concentrate to see things around me and seek to capture them.  So here are a few shots that lend themselves to “Stopping to smell the sunset.”

     

    _MG_0022

     

    This orchid is awesome.  Diana bought it on a whim for $25 and this little dynamo has pumped out more and more blossoms each year.  Check out how many there were this year!

     

    _MG_4338

    Check out the size of this peony. 

     

    _MG_4362

     

    And now the sunsets and almost sunsets.

     

    Blue Grey Cloud

    _MG_0079

    IMG_3856

    _MG_0078

    IMG_3630

    Cafe Cacao w The Lims-2-2

     

     

     

     

Comments (4)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *